Showing posts with label ARC Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label ARC Review. Show all posts

Monday, March 12, 2018

Review: Guardian's Bond

Guardian's Bond by Rhenna Morgan
Ancient Ink Book 1
Publication Date March 12, 2018 by Carina Press
Reviewed by Janet
4 Ancient Stars

Synopsis:

For decades, he’s been alone.
Now, she’s here. His fated mate.
His to win. To protect. 
To provide for and pleasure. 

Priest Rahandras has lived with the darkness trapped inside himself for years. Betrayed by his own brother and forced to watch his clan’s brutal annihilation, the only thing Priest wants more than to escape the curse that haunts him—as both man and beast—is to rebuild.

Until the mate he’s longed for walks into his life with an elder from his past. She’s everything he’s wished for, and the key to the clan’s very survival.

Kateri Falsen is a woman of logic and facts. While Priest’s cat can sense her arousal, telling her they’re fated won’t be enough. He’ll have to show her his love: with his words, with his actions, and with his body.

Protecting Kateri from the evil trapped inside him is paramount. But when lost clan members are systematically murdered, he’ll have to choose between exposing his mate to his black magic, or risking her as the next victim.

This book is approximately 90,000 words

One-click with confidence. This title is part of the Carina Press Romance Promise: all the romance you’re looking for with an HEA/HFN. It’s a promise!


Guardian's BondGuardian's Bond by Rhenna Morgan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Wonderful paranormal romance with shifters. Definitely heavy on the romance with smoldering hero Priest. He is a dominant alpha male in every sense of the word. When he meets Kateri, he may well have met his match and be brought to his knees by his mate. Kateri isn't sure what to believe about the things she is being told. Ever since she was a little girl, her father told her everything was nonsense. Now she'll have to trust in Priest to keep her safe and trust her heart.

A great setup in the first book of this series. It leaves you ready for book two. There's plenty of room for growth with all the different shifters. I look forward to reading Elise's story.

Reviewed by Janet of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews

Tuesday, March 6, 2018

Review: A Glimmer of Hope

A Glimmer of Hope by Steve McHugh
The Avalon Chronicles Book 1
Publication Date April 1, 2018 by 47 North
Reviewed by Janet
5 Glimmering Stars!

Synopsis:

From Steve McHugh, the bestselling author of The Hellequin Chronicles, comes a new urban fantasy series packed with mystery, action, and, above all, magic.

Layla Cassidy has always wanted a normal life, and the chance to put her father’s brutal legacy behind her. And in her final year of university she’s finally found it. Or so she thinks.

But when Layla accidentally activates an ancient scroll, she is bestowed with an incredible, inhuman power. She plunges into a dangerous new world, full of mythical creatures and menace—all while a group of fanatics will stop at nothing to turn her abilities to their cause.

To protect those she loves most, Layla must take control of her new powers…before they destroy her. All is not yet lost—there is a light shining, but Layla must survive long enough to see it.


A Glimmer of Hope (The Avalon Chronicles #1)A Glimmer of Hope by Steve McHugh
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

High octane action and pure fun. This is amazing right outta the gate. Hit the ground running and never stopped. Monsters, mythology, and ancient scrolls - I'm giving the author a high five here.

Layla Cassidy's life is forever changed when she stumbles upon an ancient scroll. She's now on the run and doesn't know who to trust or what to believe. The secondary characters are awesomesauce! Mr. McHugh does an astounding job of giving each of them uniqueness and depth. The monsters are detailed vividly, and you may see them in your nightmares. Layla is exceptional, and this is just the beginning of her journey.

I'm so excited to have a new author to read. This is the first in a new series, but a spin-off, so I can't wait to read them all. Paranormal and fantasy readers must read this!

Reviewed by Janet of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews

Monday, March 5, 2018

Review: An American Witch in Paris

An American Witch in Parisby Michele Hauf
Published March 1, 2018 by Harlequin Nocturne
Reviewed by Rose
5 Magical Stars!

Synopsis:

Taken hostage in Paris…

…but bound by desire


Tired of his desk job, Ethan Pierce decides it’s time for a more exciting occupation. This straitlaced vampire may be ready for demons and blood magic, but nothing can prepare him for Tuesday Knightsbridge. She’s brash, she’s bold and she’s the sexiest woman he’s ever met. She also happens to be a witch…and the key to saving the world.


An American Witch in ParisAn American Witch in Paris by Michele Hauf
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Tired of his desk job, Ethan Pierce decides it’s time for a more exciting occupation. This straitlaced vampire may be ready for demons and blood magic, but nothing can prepare him for Tuesday Knightsbridge. She’s brash, she’s bold and she’s the sexiest woman he’s ever met. She also happens to be a witch…and the key to saving the world.

Be prepared for alot of sex scenes and swearing.

I have read a lot of books by Michele Hauf, and I've liked them all, loved many of them, but this one, this may be one of my favorites. This book has everything I always love about her books, awesome characters, easy flowing plot,and steamy romance. If you like hot, sexy vampire/witch stories, you want this book.

Reviewed by Rose

View all my reviews

Sunday, March 4, 2018

Review: One of Us Will Be Dead By Morning

One of Us Will Be Dead by Morning by David Moody
Hater Book 4
Published December 5, 2017 by Thomas Dunne Books
Reviewed by Rose
5 Chilling Stars!

Synopsis:

Fifteen people are trapped on Skek, a barren island in the middle of the North Sea somewhere between the coasts of the UK and Denmark. Over the years this place has served many purposes a fishing settlement, a military outpost, a scientific base but one by one its inhabitants have abandoned its inhospitable shores. Today it s home to Hazleton Adventure Experiences, an extreme sports company specializing in corporate team building events.

Life there is fragile and tough. One slip is all it takes. A momentary lapse leads to a tragic accident, but when the body count quickly starts to rise, questions are inevitably asked. Are the deaths coincidental, or something else entirely? Those people you thought you knew well, can you really trust them? Are you standing next to a killer, and will you be their next victim?

A horrific discovery changes everything for everyone. There s no way home now, and a trickle of rumors becomes a tsunami of fear. Is this really the beginning of the end of everything, or a situation constructed by the mass hysteria of a handful of desperate and terrified people?

The lower the population, the higher the stakes.

Kill the rest of them, before one of them kills you.

One of Us Will Be Dead by MorningOne of Us Will Be Dead by Morning by David Moody

In One of Us Will Be Dead by Morning, David Moody returns to the world of his Hater trilogy with a new fast-paced, and wonderfully dark story about humanity’s fight for survival in the face of the impending apocalypse.

The fewer left alive, the higher the stakes.
Kill the others, before one of them kills you.

Fourteen people are trapped on Skek, a barren island in the middle of the North Sea somewhere between the coasts of the UK and Denmark. Over the years this place has served many purposes―a fishing settlement, a military outpost, a scientific base―but one by one its inhabitants have abandoned its inhospitable shores. Today it’s home to Hazleton Adventure Experiences, an extreme sports company specializing in corporate team building events.

Life there is fragile and tough. One slip is all it takes. A momentary lapse leads to a tragic accident, but when the body count quickly starts to rise, questions are inevitably asked. Are the deaths coincidental, or something else entirely? Those people you thought you knew, can you really trust them? Is the person standing next to you a killer? Will you be their next victim?

In the Hater trilogy,books one, two and three must be read in order. One of Us Will Be Dead by Morning (book four) is a new storyline within the Hater world. You can read and enjoy it without having read the previous books. This book goes back to the beginning and runs concurrently with book one, Hater.
I have not read the Hater series, I found that although you can read this without reading the other books, I don't recommend it. The Hater world of David Moody is a dark, disturbing place, where it’s not survival of the fittest, but of the luckiest. This is a horror novel. It’s enthralling. It is well written and gives you the “unchanged” perspective of what is happening in the world.

Reviewed by Rose of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews

Thursday, March 1, 2018

Review: Crysalis

Chrysalis by Angie Martin
Self Published March 9, 2018
Reviewed by Janet
5 Terrified Stars

Synopsis:

From the best-selling, award-winning author of Conduit and The Boys Club comes a new supernatural thriller. 
Sheriff Peter Holbrook leads a simple life watching over the residents of Nowhere, Kansas, where the most noteworthy crimes are dognappings and brawls at the local tavern. He’s always had an inherent fear of the gray – the yearly spring storms that plague the area. As the gray descends on Nowhere, a mysterious woman crashes her car just outside city limits. The tattooed stranger may not remember who she is, but Peter instantly feels a connection with her. 

But, the girl’s appearance isn’t the oddest event. Unusual behavior from the townsfolk, cattle mutilation, and death soon follow. Peter believes they are related, but only has his instincts and prophetic ramblings from his deceased mother. As the mysteries and bodies pile up, he turns to the stranger for help in hopes to save his sleepy town. 

Chrysalis contains strong violence. Reader discretion advised.

ChrysalisChrysalis by Angie Martin
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book was awesome! Pulls you in immediately with a fast moving plot. I think this is a cross between horror and suspense with just the right amount of both.

Sheriff Peter Holbrook discovers something strange in his sleepy little town of Nowhere when he meets Kaylen. Kaylen was in an accident and now has amnesia. It's up to Peter and Kaylen to figure out what's going on before it's too late and there are more murders. This town may be in a heap of trouble when the gray comes.

I love a creepy thriller that keeps you up most of the night. But, hey, I'll keep coming back for more. I've read some great books and this is one I highly recommend. Kudos to the author for an unputdownable, riveting read.

Reviewed by Janet of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews

Wednesday, February 28, 2018

Review: Glass Town

Glass Town by Steven Savile
Published December 5, 2017 by Thomas Dunne Books
Reviewed by Terri
5 Mysterious Stars

Synopsis:

A brilliantly rendered story about obsession and one man's attempt to unravel the mystery that destroyed his grandfather's life, set against a magical and intricately woven cityscape.

Steven Savile has been an international sensation, selling over half a million copies of his novels worldwide and writing for cult favorite television shows including Doctor Who, Torchwood, and Stargate. Now, he is finally making his US debut with Glass Town, a brilliantly composed novel revolving around the magic and mystery lurking in London. 

In 1926, two brothers both loved Eleanor Raines, a promising young actress from the East End of London. But, along with Seth Lockwood, she disappeared, never to be seen again. Isaiah, Seth’s younger brother, refused to accept that she was just gone. 

It has been seventy years since and the brothers are long dead. But now their dark, twisted secret, threatens to tear the city apart. Seth made a bargain with Damiola, an illusionist, to make a life size version of his most famous trick, and hide away part of London to act as a prison out of sync with our time, where one year passes as one hundred. That illusion is Glass Town. And now its walls are failing. 

Reminiscent of Clive Barker’s Weaveworld and Neil Gaiman’s American Gods, Savile brings out the magic in the everyday. Glass Town is full of gritty urban landscapes, realistic characters, conflict, secrets, betrayals, magic, and mystery.

Glass TownGlass Town by Steven Savile
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I admire authors who go against the grain and create books that make readers question standard genre rules. Savile created a book that crossed genres and somehow created a new thriller-urban fantasy-magic realism genre. Sometimes that confused me and more than once I put the book down to take a break. However, I could not stop thinking about it and when I was finished it all seemed to gel. The thrilling plot line kept me interested and I’m still thinking about the characters. When I first started the book, it seemed too simple. I was wrong. I fell in love with the main character and, I wouldn’t say I ENJOYED walking in his shoes, but he certainly carried me away to a different time and place. The last highlight of this book I want to mention is the author’s incorporation of history. I honestly want to read it a second time now that I have a basic idea.

Reviewed by Terri of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Review: Flight of the White Wolf

Flight of the White Wolf by Terry Spear
White Wolf Book 3
Publication Date March 6, 2018 by Sourcebooks Casablanca
Reviewed by Deja
5 HOWLS!

Synopsis:

Stranded in the wilderness, these warring hearts will be forced to work together—or die together.
Gavin Summerfield—an arctic wolf shifter with a fear of flying—has to fly into the vast lakeland wilderness of northern Minnesota to track down his suspect—where his ability to shift will come in very handy. Imagine his chagrin when his pilot turns out to be the woman who tasered him last time they saw each other. Things are off to a rocky start...again.
Arctic wolf shifter Amelia White isn't entirely displeased to see Gavin again, but priorities shift when their plane is sabotaged and goes down in the middle of nowhere. As their attraction grows, Amelia hopes Gavin doesn't discover the secret she's been keeping...she knows he could never forgive her...
The White Wolf Series:
Dreaming of a White Wolf Christmas (Book 1)
Flight of the White Wolf (Book 2)

Flight of the White WolfFlight of the White Wolf by Terry Spear
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I loved this book I have always been a fan of wolf shifters but there was something even better about the Arctic Wolf Shifters in this book that made it even better. Gavin and Amelia were amazing together and I loved reading about them. It was amusing to read of a wolf shifter who was afraid of flying but it made for a better story. I would love to see where this series goes from here.

Reviewed by Deja of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews

Review: Witch Creek

Witch Creek by Laura Bickle
Wildlands Book 4
Publication Date February 27, 2018 by Harper Voyager
Reviewed by Janet
4 Creeking Stars!

Synopsis: 

In the backcountry of Yellowstone, evil moves below the surface . . . 

Following Nine of Stars comes the next chapter in Laura Bickle's critically acclaimed Wildlands series

As the daughter of an alchemist, Petra Dee has battled supernatural horrors and experienced astonishing wonders. But there’s no magic on earth that can defeat her recent cancer diagnosis, or help find her missing husband, Gabriel. Still, she would bet all her remaining days that the answer to his disappearance lies in the dark subterranean world beneath the Rutherford Ranch on the outskirts of Temperance, Wyoming.

Gabe is being held prisoner by the sheriff and heir to the ranch, Owen Rutherford. Owen is determined to harness the power of the Tree of Life—and he needs Gabe to reveal its magic. Secretly, the sheriff has also made a pact to free a creature of the underground, a flesh-devouring mermaid. Muirenn has vowed to exact vengeance on Gabe, who helped imprison her, but first . . . she's hungry. Once freed, she will swim into Yellowstone—to feed.

With her coyote sidekick Sig, Petra must descend into the underworld to rescue Gabe before it's too late . . . for both of them.


Witch Creek: A Wildlands NovelWitch Creek: A Wildlands Novel by Laura Bickle
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

A gripping supernatural thriller! I have not had the pleasure of reading the other books in this series, but had no trouble following the storyline whatsoever. Petra Dee is a strong heroine. Despite the fact that she has cancer, barring death, nothing will stop her from searching for her husband, Gabe. Petra and her friends, along with her coyote Sig, go on a quest to find him. Meanwhile, Gabe is trying desperately to find a way back to Petra. Muirenn is one ancient and crafty mermaid who will do anything for freedom and vengeance.

Get ready for a well-plotted novel with just the right touch of paranormal elements. You'll enjoy this from beginning to end. Be sure to check out the previous books to fully appreciate this one.

Reviewed by Janet of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews

Friday, February 9, 2018

Review: Thanks Fur Last Night

Thanks Fur Last Night
Fur Book 1
Published January 30, 2018 by St. Martin's Griffin
Reviewed by Jenn
5 Howls!



Thanks Fur Last NightThanks Fur Last Night by Eve Langlais
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is a first anthology I have read in a long time that all of the stories were really good. Normally there is one or two that you just skip...but this one has all good stories!

If you like shifters, you will love this!

Reviewed by Jenn of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews

Thursday, February 8, 2018

Review: 19 Souls

19 Souls by J. D. Allen
Sin City Investigation Book 1
Published February 8, 2018 by Midnight Ink
Reviewed by Janet
4 Blood Chills

Synopsis:

Private Investigator Jim Bean is a straightforward, to-the-point man. When his latest client, Sophie Evers, asks him to find her brother Daniel, Jim has no idea how complicated his life is about to become.

Daniel is not Sophie's brother. He is her most coveted prey. Clinging to the belief that they belong together, Sophie kills Daniel's real sister to manipulate Jim into flushing Daniel out of hiding. She will create the "perfect life" for the only man she's ever loved, no matter how many people she must kill along the way.

When Jim discovers the truth about Sophie, he's driven to set things right before her delusional plan claims even more souls.


19 Souls (Sin City Investigation, #1)19 Souls by J.D. Allen
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The first book in the Sin City series takes off with Private Investigator Jim Bean. He doesn't realize by taking on his latest client that circumstances would go from bad to worse. There's a lot at stake that Jim may not be ready for, but ready he'll have to be. This killer is a psychopath of epic proportions.

A great main character who is flawed, but underneath, still a good guy. Hooked me in with a solid plotline and kept me turning the pages. This is one thriller that's sure to make suspense readers sit up and take notice. I will certainly be reading the next one because I'm curious to see where this goes and what new case Jim will take on.

Reviewed by Janet of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews

Tuesday, February 6, 2018

Review: Devil Take Me

Devil Take Me by Karilyn Bentley
Demon Huntress Book 4
Published January 22, 2018 by The Wild Rose Press
Reviewed by Jennifer
5 Demonic Stars!

Synopsis:

A demon attack…

Reeling from a personal tragedy and abandoned by all she loves, the world's newest demon huntress, Gin Crawford, sinks into a deep despair.
She’s forced back to reality by news of a large number of people committing suicide, all on the same night. Suspecting demon involvement, Gin must work with her sexy but estranged mentor Aidan Smythe to track who, or what, is behind the deaths.

Leads to a new discovery…

As they come closer to finding the culprit, they realize their employer, the Agency, is hiding its own secret, one which threatens Gin's very existence. New discoveries reveal that even those dedicated to eradicating evil can be bought. Can Gin and Smythe forgive each other and work together or will they fall under the demon's thrall?
 


Devil Take MeDevil Take Me by Karilyn Bentley
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Good plot ... nice take on a popular topic. Characters are well defined and the World building is well done.

I look forward to other books!

I was offered the opportunity to read this as an Advanced reader copy and now I am writing my honest review.

Reviewed by Jennifer of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews

Thursday, February 1, 2018

Guest Post & Review: Elevator Quest

Elevator Quest by Emmanuel M Arriaga
Published February 6, 2018 by EA Starchilde Company
Reviewed by Janet
4 Chilling Thrills

Synopsis:

When the elevator cable snapped, they all thought they were going to die.

Instead, Tasha and the survivors find themselves trapped in a fantasy world, the crash only the beginning as they have no choice but to fight for their survival. 

The office workers discover mystical weapons that lead them into an adventure filled with monsters and deadly challenges. The mystery of what really happened gnaws at them as they face the possibility that maybe they did all die in that elevator crash after all.



Elevator QuestElevator Quest by Emmanuel M. Arriaga
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was like being on a roller coaster ride. As crazy as this is, every chapter had something unexpected. The premise caught my interest right away since I enjoy reading books with a unique concept. There is plenty of action in this book, and I do mean plenty.

The author crafted this world where unlikely office workers become heroes and come together to fight fantastical creatures from another dimension. You never know what will be around the next corner. The characters take on a life of their own. I would have liked a little more background on each of them, but I think this was meant to jump right into the thick of it all. Anything goes in this world. The question is, will they make it out alive? This will appeal to fantasy readers and those who love great fighting scenarios.

Reviewed by Janet of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews

The inspiration for Elevator Quest
by Emmanuel M Arriaga

I dream a lot, and vividly. I try to write down what I dream, with some crazy stuff having come out of my subconscious over the years. Much of my writing is inspired by early morning scribblings of fading details. This must happen within seconds of waking up, otherwise the details are gone forever. Elevator Quest came to me in a dream. The dream was fueled by my love of Dungeons & Dragons (D&D) and probably a late-night gaming session. Much of the elements within Elevator Quest pay homage to D&D in some fashion. You can almost feel the proverbial hand of a Dungeon Master at work as the band of office workers descend into the fantasy adventure.

Usually in my dreams, the primary characters are there, the setting is there, and the meat of the adventure or scene is there. When I capture that magical dream juice, writing it down actually embeds the memories of the dream in that scribbled document forever. I can open any of those documents and begin to read, the dream coming back to me in a flash. Given the volume of dreams that I get, I can’t start writing novels for all of them. Usually, the dream must become an obsession to draw my limited time into focusing on it. Elevator Quest became an obsession.

I couldn’t get it out of my head. I couldn’t stop thinking about the characters, the setting, the potential story opportunities. I know that when this happens, I must drop whatever I’m doing and focus on it right away. This of course meant putting the sequel to my first novel on hold. I consider Elevator Quest a tribute to essential D&D stories, paying respect to book series like Dragonlance and The Legend of Drizzt.


My one hope, is that Elevator Quest will rekindle the flame of D&D in those who have drifted away from the pastime, and expose a whole new group of people who have never considered D&D to a brand-new world.

Wednesday, January 31, 2018

Review: Wolf Blood

Wolf Blood by Steve Morris
Lycanthropic Book 1
Published January 1, 2018 by Landmark Media
Reviewed by Janet
5 Bloody Fangs!!

Synopsis:

The werewolf apocalypse begins ... 

When a wave of vicious attacks sweeps across London, there are reports of a Beast on the loose. There are fears of a Ripper stalking the streets. 
But the truth is more terrifying than anyone wants to admit. 
Werewolves are prowling the city. Hunting and killing. 

Lycanthropy, a disease as old as humanity, now threatens to destroy civilization. With no cure, no vaccine, and millions of potential victims, it’s spreading through the capital at exponential rates. And every werewolf bite has just two possible outcomes – death or infection.

Only a tiny number of people have the insight to realize what is happening. But what will a young police woman, a group of teenagers and a computer nerd have to sacrifice in order to survive?

The werewolf apocalypse is here. And it’s only just beginning … 
WOLF BLOOD is the first in the LYCANTHROPIC post-apocalyptic werewolf series. If you enjoy the zombie apocalypse, dystopian science fiction, horror, grimdark, dark fantasy, or multi-protagonist sagas, don’t miss out on the next big trend in apocalyptic fiction.


Wolf Blood: The Werewolf Apocalypse Begins (Lycanthropic, #1)Wolf Blood: The Werewolf Apocalypse Begins by Steve Morris
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Horror fans are in for a treat! These werewolves are cunning and unstoppable at spreading the lycanthropy disease. I was very excited to read this. This author pulls out all the stops so there's lots of gore and action to be had among these pages. Loved this from the moment I started reading. This is the first book in the series, so yes, it does end on a cliffhanger, but now I can't wait for book two.

We start off with Professor Norman Wiseman who is studying the lycanthropy disease in Romania when unfortunate mishaps occur. Then the rest of this takes place in London where the werewolf apocalypse spreads like the plague. This switches around to the different characters this book centers around. Amazing details give this authenticity. You're in for a wild ride.

Reviewed by Janet of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews

Tuesday, January 30, 2018

Review: Howl For It

Howl For It by Shelly Laurenston & Cynthia Eden
Pride Book 0.5
Re-Published January 30, 2017 by Kensington
Reviewed by Jennifer
5 Howls!

Synopsis:

They hunger for your pleasure. They growl for your touch. And in these sizzling stories by New York Times bestselling author Shelly Laurenston and Cynthia Eden, these sexy wolf shapeshifters are lust at first bite. . .


Like A Wolf With A Bone by Shelly Laurenston

Quiet little Darla Lewis couldn't be happier when the most-feared member of the South's rowdiest pack kidnaps her. A girl gets real tired of being overprotected by her own shifter family, and there's nothing like an oh-so-big bad wolf to start a pack feud, unleash her instincts--and have her surrender however and whenever she wants. . .


Wed Or Dead by Cynthia Eden

Gage Ryder knew his human bride had a wild side. But spending their honeymoon night on the run from hunters out to finish him and his pack is sure not the kind of fun he was looking forward to. No problem--Gage will do whatever it takes to lay bare Kayla's secrets and find the truth. If he can keep from being captured by his own seductive game. . .


Howl For It (Pride, #0.5)Howl For It by Shelly Laurenston
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Howl For It is 2 books/novellas in one.

The first Book/novella is: Like a Wolf with a Bone by Shelley Laurenston

I wasn't sure at first ... this was set in the South and all of the Characters male Smith's had Ray as their 2nd first name or middle name (it is unclear which it is) & the Lewis sisters were all "first name" Mae's.

That said even the character written to be the least endearing will work his way into your heart.

Eggie Ray and Darla Mae were born for each other. Eggie Ray is more Wolf than man and Darla Mae is a pacifist Werewolf. Despite the fact that Eggie Ray would just as soon kill you as talk to you they seem to work ... maybe Darla Mae's amazing pies help as well.

There was action, strife, crazy families coming together (again! ) ... this book was fun to read.

Wed or Dead by Cynthia Eden is the second of the books/novellas.

This was my first Cynthia Eden book/story and it was good! It took me a few chapters to get into to it but in the end it was worth the effort!

Give this book a try if you want a good set of paranormal romance books/stories!

I volunteered to read the book as an Advanced reader copy and now I am writing my honest review of the book.

Reviewed by Jennifer of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews

Monday, January 29, 2018

Review: Diaper Duty Vampire

Diaper Duty Vampire by R. E. Mullins
Vampires of Amber Heights Book 1
Published December 11, 2017 by The Wild Rose Press
Reviewed by Sarah
5 BABY FANGS!

Synopsis:

During the Civil War, Union soldier, John Alden took a musket ball to the gut. As he gasped his final breath, he was turned into a vampire and started life anew in Amber Heights, Missouri. For over one hundred and fifty years, he's lived a rather solitary life as a vampire Enforcer. 

Young single mother, Joann Clarkson, needs a job and fast. Hoping to be rehired, she returns to Dr. Michaela Blautsauger's lab prepared to eat a hefty helping of humble pie. She comes to regret that decision when she's taken hostage. Things look grim but she'll never stop fighting to escape. Her son needs his mama. 

As an Enforcer, John must hunt down the vampire who kidnapped Joann. In his search, John winds up babysitting her toddler Cody. Changing diapers might be worse than getting staked, but nothing compares to how he feels when both mother and child fall into danger again.


Diaper Duty Vampire (Vampires of Amber Heights Book 1)Diaper Duty Vampire by R E Mullins
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This was a cute book- very different than most stuff out there. The main character was adorable, you can tell he's a "mans man" but facing down a toddler was just his perfect match to unbalance his manliness- at first. The tasks told of what he goes through was amazing to read in the sense that a man almost NEVER has to deal with what he did and he tackled it head on and almost perfectly. This book cracked me up at his cluelessness (if that is even a word) with what taking care of a toddler actually requires and it was so great to read. Of course when the mom is introduced into the mix I totally understood her concerns as a mother as well and the scenario she was in. The chemistry between them was sweet and not BAM in your face- I thought it was really well written to be honest. This is a great book and I'm interested to see where the next book will take us.

Reviewed by Sarah of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

Review: Daddy Darkest

Daddy Darkest by Ellery Kane
Doctors of Darkness Book 1
Published by Ellery Kane Publishing
Reviewed by Janet
5 Dreadful Stars!

Synopsis:

BURY YOUR SECRETS. BURY THEM DEEP.

A month after her high school graduation, small-town-girl Samantha "Sam" Bronwyn boards a plane with her best friend, Ginny. Destination: San Francisco. But when Ginny disappears inside an airport bathroom wearing Sam's letterman jacket, it doesn't take her long to figure out she was the intended target. Alone in a strange city, Sam's on a run for her life--drawn into a dark past she never knew existed. A past where secrets aren't all that's buried and where revenge comes at the highest price.

Who is Sam really--and who can she trust? The mysterious stranger in 4A who secreted a gun in his backpack? The guilty ex-con? The disarming FBI agent? Her own mother?

Only one thing is certain. Someone is after her. Someone who knows more about her than she does. Someone who wants to teach her a hard lesson: There are worse things than murder.

Daddy Darkest is a standalone and the first in the Doctors of Darkness series by forensic psychologist and author, Ellery Kane. Betrayal, lust, revenge, murder...These doctors earned their degrees from the dark side.


Daddy Darkest (Doctors of Darkness, #1)Daddy Darkest by Ellery A. Kane
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Plenty of twists make this a riveting and unforgettable book. I absolutely loved this! There are few suspense authors that I love, and now this one is ranked right up there with my favorites. Yes, there is disturbing subject matter in here. The entire plot works here, and it's page-turning suspense.

Right from the start, we have Samantha's friend Ginny being abducted. There are no clues as to what happened. Samantha must decide if there is anyone she can trust or if she's on her own. A killer is at large and the hunt is on.

This is a dark psychological thriller that will have you on the edge-of-your-seat. Be prepared to be up all night. Is book two ready yet?

Reviewed by Janet of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews

Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Spotlight & Review: Baby I'm Howling For You & Something To Howl About


Summary:

BABY, I’M HOWLING FOR YOU:

WELCOME TO ALPHAVILLE, where the she-wolves and alpha-males play. . .for keeps.



Renny Landry is a wolf on the run. Pursued by a shapeshifting stalker and his slobbering pack of killer coyotes, she is forced to flee her job as a librarian to find sanctuary in the wooded hills of Alpha, Washington. A well-secluded safe space for troubled shifters, Alpha is Renny’s last hope. But the first person she meets there is a gorgeous alpha male with fiery eyes, fierce tattoos, and one ferocious appetite—for her…


Mick Fischer thought he left his past behind when he moved to Alpha. But fate has a way of biting him in the tail when a female wolf shows up on his property. Wounded, desperate—and disarmingly hot—Renny brings out the snarling, protective alpha beast in Mick like no other woman he’s known. Can these two haunted, hunted wolves manage to mate for life…even as the deadliest past demons howl at their heels?

Baby, I'm Howling For You (Alphaville, #1)Baby, I'm Howling For You by Christine Warren
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Mick and Renny were awesome in this story I loved how their relationship almost didn’t happen because he was to Alpha for his own good. The town of Alpha was a perfect blend of shifters I loved every character that was introduced and can just see them having their own book. This was an amazing read and I cannot wait for the next book in the series.

Reviewed by Deja of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews

SOMETHING TO HOWL ABOUT:
WELCOME TO ALPHAVILLE, where the she-wolves and alpha-males play. . .for keeps, in a brand-new paranormal romance series from New York Times bestselling author Christine Warren.

Dr. Annie Cryer has been called many things: Genius. Child prodigy. Scientific wonder.

Wolf Shifter.

Banished from her pack years ago, Annie’s lone wolf wandering has brought her to Alpha, Washington, home to all shifters who don't quite fit in in the "normal" shifter word. Now Annie has the chance to go back home...if only she can make good on a favor her alpha owes the mayor of “Alphaville.” But it's not much of a favor when you're helping the hottest shifter in town...

Grizzly shifter Jonas Browning has a clan in trouble. They haven't had a child born in over a hundred years...and their clan faces going completely extinct. Genetic scientist Anne Cryer has been sent to help save them. But what Jonas doesn't count on is being irresistibly drawn to the small wolf shifter, and his bear isn't about to let her go…





Something to Howl About (Alphaville #0.5)Something to Howl About by Christine Warren
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Annie and Jonas were absolutely adorable. Jonas was so oblivious to what his body and his bear were telling him about Annie, and she was timid one minute and a fierce she-wolf the next made for a very interesting character. I loved the buildup to their mating it made me wonder how the story would end. I only wish I had learned more about Annie and her banishment the author gave u snippets of the reason which only made me want to know more. Beyond that this was definitely an awesome read.

Reviewed by Deja of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews



AUTHOR BIO:


CHRISTINE WARREN is the bestselling author of The Others series, including Wolf at the Door, Big Bad Wolf, Born to Be Wild, Prince Charming Doesn’t Live Here, and Black Magic Woman. Born and raised in coastal New England, she now lives as a transplant in the Pacific Northwest. (She completely bypassed those states in the middle due to her phobia of being landlocked). When not writing, she enjoys horseback riding, playing with her pets, identifying dogs from photos of their underbellies, and most of all reading things someone else had to agonize over.

Twitter - @ChristineWarren
Facebook- @ChristineWarren

a Rafflecopter giveaway

From My Author Page...

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GothicMoms Updates