Showing posts with label ARC Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label ARC Review. Show all posts

Friday, October 20, 2017

Review: The Spark

The Spark by David Drake
Publication Date November 7, 2017 by Baen
Reviewed by Terri
4 Twisted Stars

Synopsis:

NEW STANDALONE NOVEL BY SF MASTER DAVID DRAKE. In a violent world in which civilization has fallen and monsters roam, a young hero will rise.

In the time of the Ancients the universe was united—but that was so far in the past that not even memory remains, only the broken artifacts that a few Makers can reshape into their original uses. What survives is shattered into enclaves—some tiny, some ruined, some wild.

Into the gaps between settlements, and onto the Road that connects all human reality and the reality that is not human and may never have been human, have crept monsters. Some creatures are men, twisted into inhuman evil; some of them are alien to Mankind—

And there are things which are hostile to all life, things which will raven and kill until they are stopped.

A Leader has arisen, welding the scattered human settlements together in peace and safety and smashing the enemies of order with an iron fist. In his capital, Dun Add, the Leader provides law and justice. In the universe beyond, his Champions advance—and enforce—the return of civilization.

Pal, a youth from the sticks, has come to Dun Add to become a Champion. Pal is a bit of a Maker, and in his rural home he's been able to think of himself as a warrior because he can wield the weapons of the Ancient civilization.

Pal has no idea of what he's really getting into in Dun Add. On the other hand, the Leader and Dun Add have no real idea of what might be inside this hayseed with high hopes.

THE SPARK: A story of hope and violence and courage. And especially, a story of determination. (Goodreads)


Review:

Fantasy is not for every reader but I happen to like it a lot. For me, the most important part of fantasy is world-building. The idea of creating a world from nothing fascinates and challenges me. This author nailed the world-building and created a mesh between high fantasy and techno science fiction. There were some parts I needed to reread to understand all the details but overall it was fun and tickled my imagination.

This is a true hero's journey where Pal fights to live a life that is to the betterment of mankind. He is an all around good guy. I liked that. He never steered from his focus and lost motivation. It was easy to see his true character in the dialog and the plot development. In fact, I thought every character was well developed and the author stayed true to each of them.

The only issue I have with this story is more a personal preference thing. Pal went on several adventures and had several big fights. However, there wasn't one big climactic moment. It was a series of smaller moments. I don't remember much of the literary devices used in a "hero's journey" story so I that may have been the author's goal. I don't think this distracted from the story. It was a good story and I kept turning the pages because I wanted to see how it ended.

Monday, October 16, 2017

Guest Post on Villains by Joe M. Solomon





The Darkness: Giger, Texas
Joe M. Solomon

Genre: Horror/Supernatural

Publisher: NES Publishing, LLC

Date of Publication: October 3, 2017

ISBN: 978-0-9990024-0-7
ASIN: B07435H5YR

Number of pages: 372
Word Count: 106,029

Cover Artist: Syneca Featherstone



Book Description:

When night falls in Giger, Texas, shadows gather as they always do in dim corners and other areas bereft of light.  But this time they consolidate and attack any who tread too close. Michael Warren, a twenty-four-year-old resident of Giger, finds himself at the epicenter of this horror and is stunned by the losses suffered overnight.  Then the sun sets and the shadows again coalesce, growing more aggressive, the darkness eviscerating anyone it touches.

His only weapon light, Michael struggles to survive and searches frantically for his girlfriend, aiding friends along the way.  When Hurricane Daniel roars ashore, wind gusts shred trees and tear down power lines, plunging all of Southeastern Texas into blackness that only feeds and strengthens the encroaching darkness.  Rising floodwater provides easy thoroughfares from which the darkness can strike as Michael and his friends contend with the elements, clash with criminals, and battle their way to his residence where they will stand against the darkness and fight to survive.

Amazon     Kobo     BN     iTunes


Excerpt:
Startled, Eddie blinked and wiped at his own eyes. “What was…? Hello?”

No answer.
      
His pulse picked up. “C-Curt, you in here… you a-a-a-asshole?”

A box fell behind him.

Eddie spun around, body tight as a knot, eyes wide as their sockets would allow. “Wh-h-h-h-who the hell’s that?” he demanded with as much sternness as he could inject into his quivering voice.


Soft whispers trickled out of a minuscule pocket of emptiness near the back door on the farthest wall. There, amid the gloom, something progressed toward him. At first, its movements appeared mechanical, inelastic. Then it evolved into a smooth flow. A soft ripple. A consolidated wave of darkness.



Review - The Darkness Giger, Texas - 5 Stars

A total scarefest! Definitely not for the squeamish. This takes place right before a hurricane is about to hit. Those of us who have dealt with a hurricane or are afraid of the dark, will experience real terror among these pages. Michael Warren and his friends have no idea why there are mass murders taking place at night, not just in Giger, Texas, but all over the world. You won't believe what they encounter. Many of you may want to sleep with the lights on after this.

We have a very plausible scenario here that switches to the viewpoint of thecharacters throughout. If you live in the Houston area, you can really visualize this taking place which makes it all the more terrifying. I wasn't sure what to expect when I started this, but it was worth the ride. Seasoned horror fans will be glued to their seats as a new terror takes shape. - Reviewed by Janet



GUEST POST: VILLAINS


Let’s explore a little about what scares you.  I’ve read books and watched movies that reflect things that scare us.  Sometimes it is waking up and suddenly realizing that you are the last person on earth, i.e. Loneliness.  According to psychiatrists, we need people for everything from simple companionship to feeling good about ourselves.  This notion was examined time and again on the TV series The Twilight Zone. In Where is Everybody?, our main character basically wakes up in a town alone.  He tries a pay phone.  Nothing.  He rushes from a restaurant to the sheriff’’s office, finding no one.  He has a moment of hope when he sees a woman sitting in a car.  Further investigating, however, reveals that it is a mannequin.  When he can find no hope, ultimately our protagonist starts to crack up.  



We also see it in Time Enough when the main character survives a nuclear war.  Upon surfacing, the man finds everything has been destroyed.  He is a ferocious reader who wears thick eyeglasses. However, after discovering piles and piles of books he now has all the time in the world to read, he sees another on the ground, bends to retrieve it, and his glasses slide off of his nose and break.  Now he is alone, unable to read, with no one to talk to and nothing to do but wait to die.

In a more recent film, Passengers, the main character is on a spaceship, heading to a new world with thousands of other passengers.  By accident, the main character accidentally awakens.  All of the others still sleep.  Doing almost everything he wants to, from dancing in a virtual club to space walking outside of the ship, he finds it isn’t enough.  He needs a companion and soon finds it paramount.

So we need other people and fear total solitude. What else scares us?  Let’s consider some childhood that sometimes follow us into adulthood.  The three I’ve heard mentioned the most often are the monsters under the bed, the boogeyman in the closet and what lurks in the darkness.  As adults, the darkness continues to frighten us because we are aware now of terrors—like serial killers—that may lay in waiting for us as we walk to our cars late at night. Sick individuals who aren’t out steal our money or carjack us, but just want to see us suffer and die.  Or the lone gunman who unexpectedly sprays crowds with bullets or the man who waits in the shadows, engine running, carefully timing a hit and run.  All for the sake of violence.  But what happens when the menace in the darkness waiting to kill you isn’t a person, but the darkness itself is? 
“So what?” some might respond.  “The darkness is intangible.”  But what if it became tangible, not just her or there, but everywhere shadows formed.  And the one thing we knew for certain was that the sun must set. 
Again, so might shrug and say, “So what?  I’ll simply turn on the lights.”  What if a hurricane then plowed ashore and took away your light source?  What if the darkness grew so thick that is blocked out the starts from the sky… and the light in your house?  How would you protect yourself if a candle or flashlight simply wasn’t enough light to stave off the darkness?  Would submersing yourself in such a tale take you back to an earlier time in your life when the monster under the bed and the boogeyman in the closet seemed terrifyingly real? 

Well, this is what I present to you, dear reader:  A villain you cannot speak with, interview, reason with or evade… ever!

About the Author:

Joe M. Solomon earned a bachelor’s degree from the University of St. Thomas, followed by both master’s and doctoral degrees from Rice University. Joe’s supernatural thriller The Darkness: Giger, Texas released in 2017. A second novel—The Light: Houston, Texas—and a collection of short stories that arise from the macabre will soon follow.  




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, October 9, 2017

Review: The Beautiful Ones

The Beautiful Ones by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Publication Date October 24, 2017 by Thomas Dunne Books
Reviewed by Janet
4 Magical Stars

Synopsis:

In a world of etiquette and polite masks, no one is who they seem to be.

Antonina Beaulieu is in the glittering city of Loisail for her first Grand Season, where she will attend balls and mingle among high society. Under the tutelage of the beautiful but cold Valérie Beaulieu, she hopes to find a suitable husband. However, the haphazard manifestations of Nina’s telekinetic powers make her the subject of malicious gossip.

Yet dazzling telekinetic performer and outsider Hector Auvray sees Nina’s powers as a gift, and he teaches her how to hone and control them. As they spend more and more time together, Nina falls in love and believes she’s found the great romance that she’s always dreamed of, but Hector’s courtship of Nina is deceptive.

The Beautiful Ones is a sweeping fantasy of manners set in a world inspired by the Belle Époque. (Goodreads)


Review:

 This is an interesting love story. There is a light touch of paranormal because the two main protagonists have telekinetic abilities. I would have loved to see more use of these gifts in the book. The plot and romance are slow developing and well-written, which make it all the more sweeter. 


I honestly wasn't a big fan of Hector through most of the book, but he grew on me with the way the author had me understanding his point of view. Antonina, or Nina as she likes to be called, is just lovely and optimistic about everything. Throughout the book, I found myself saying, please let Nina get her happily ever after. All readers will root for her. This is a gentle romance for those who enjoy the build-up without all the sex. I'd like to see what this author will create next.

Monday, October 2, 2017

Review: Hooked on a Witch

Hooked on a Witch by Zoe Forward
Keepers of the Veil Book 4
Published September 11, 2017
Reviewed by Tiffany
4.5 Magically Induced Stars!


Synopsis - 

Pleiades witch Shannon Randolph has been framed for a theft she didn't do. She has one week to return a stolen relic to the god it belongs or she'll be executed. What's worse? Evil magic-wielding wackos are coming out of the woodwork after her to get it. But the biggest danger is Merck. This sexy, dangerous witch-hunter who understands all forms of magic might be her only hope. Enlisting his help may require she be a very naughty witch.

The moment Shannon strolls back into Jason Merck's life he's in trouble. There's something about the witch he can't resist, but he must. The witch hunter can't fall for the witch. (Goodreads)



Review:

First off, I've been following this series since book one and cannot believe I missed book three! This is a series that definitely needs to be read in order to be able to fully enjoy it, but, having read the first two and only missing the one directly prior to this one I was still able to follow along. Sort of like your favorite soap opera, even if you miss a week of episodes, after a few minutes in you still get the gist of what's going on, but you know you missed something really good that was critical to the plot at large. All in all it was still a great read.

Shannon has lost not only both of her brothers, but her mother as well within the span of a year, leaving just herself and father behind. If that isn't enough, the mantle of being the leader of the Pleiades witches is now hers to bare. Add onto that someone is out assassinating the very Goddesses they descended from, her father, the leader of the Druids bound and sworn to protect her and the other Pleiades, wants to keep her under lock and key where he knows she's safe and sound, and the fact that they all are under the threat of death until they find Poseidon's Trident. Not much pressure there right? Her mother's final words brings her back to her old home to find help. And who better to help her than someone with ties to the very water God himself?

Merck is the Enforcer, soul bound to be the policeman of all things magic. Anyone using black magic must answer to him, and most do not live to tell about it. He knows his judgement day is coming soon, so a relationship is just plain out of the question. Until a certain blonde literally stumbles back into his life. But she brings with her more complications than he could have imagined. She's on a mission to find the Trident that she and her people have been accused of stealing. And it just so happens he recently learned that his ties to Poseidon are a lot closer than he ever knew. Coincidence? Whenever the Gods are involved, there isn't really such a thing is there?

Fans of this series will enjoy going on this roller coaster ride with Shannon and Merck as they give in to the fact that destiny is real, and sometimes it doesn't completely suck. The only thing keeping this from being a five star is everything wasn't wrapped as tight as I would have liked, which I know all too well is not an easy thing to do, and one of those things could have just been something that I missed; like why did Shannon seem to seem to have such a fear of drowning? But the biggest was Merck's parents; the big reveal of who they were didn't end up with a big reunion. 

This is a great series for lovers of all things magic and deity related. While it can be read as a stand-alone, I highly recommend reading the series as a whole, in order. Each book ties into the next, so don't cheat yourself, or the author, by just grabbing a random one out of order. 

Thursday, September 28, 2017

Review: Damned

Damned by Alexandra Weis & Lucas Astor
Magnus Blackwell Book 1
Publication Date October 31, 2017
Reviewed by Janet
5 Mystifying Stars!!

Synopsis:

Over a hundred years after the death of Magnus Blackwell, Altmover Manor sits abandoned. Determined to rescue the neglected Mount Desert Island landmark, a well-known architect purchases the once grand home.

Will Bennet and his fiancée—the quirky and stubborn Lexie Arden—want to make Altmover Manor their showplace. But Magnus has other plans. 

A spirit bound to his former residence, Magnus finds himself inexplicably drawn to the young woman. She has a supernatural gift; a gift Magnus wants to exploit to end his purgatory.

As Lexie and Will settle in, secrets from Magnus’s past begin to surface. Compelled to learn all she can about the former owner, Lexie finds herself drawn into a world of voodoo, curses, and the whereabouts of a mysterious dragon cane.

It soon becomes clear Magnus’s sins won’t be so easily forgotten. What Lexie unearths about his road to redemption is going to change the future … for both of them. (Goodreads)


Review:

Hold on to your seats because you're in for one helluva ride! Pulls you in with a phenomenal plot and a great cast. This is paranormal at its finest. The haunted house theme and Lexi's abilities really keep the pages turning. Lexie and her fiancée Will purchase an old house with lots of history, and things get going from there. The spirit of Magnus Blackwell has unfinished business and refuses to leave Lexie alone. The adventure continues in New Orleans own French Quarter where Lexie is drawn to the world of voodoo. You'll love to hate Magnus and won't be able to put this down. 

The detailing of this book makes it the perfect escapism read. The appearance of a Maine Coon cat is a mystery. I don't know if it gets any better than this, but I'm anxiously awaiting the next book. Paranormal fans are in for a treat.    

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Review: Between a Wolf and a Hard Place

Between a Wolf and a Hard Place by Terry Spear
Heart of the Wolf Book 21
Published April 4, 2017 by Sourcebooks Casablanca
Reviewed by Deja
5 Howls!

Synopsis:

Wooing a she-wolf isn't as easy as it looks in this bold paranormal romance from USA Today bestseller Terry Spear

In Silver Town, the secrets run deep...

Alpha werewolf Brett Silver has an ulterior motive when he donates a prized family heirloom to the Silver Town hotel. Ellie MacTire owns the place with her sisters, and he's out to get her attention.

Ellie is even more special than Brett knows. She's a wolf-shifter with a unique ability to commune with the dead. Ellie has been ostracized, so she protects herself and those she loves by revealing nothing-not even when strange and dangerous things begin to happen in Silver Town. And especially not to the devastatingly handsome and generous wolf who's determined to win her over... (Goodreads)


Review:

I liked this book Brett and Ellie were cute to read about and I found myself rooting for them from beginning to end. This was an interesting take on wolves and I found it refreshing. It was interesting to see a shy alpha wolf it was almost unheard of but it completely worked for this book. I really liked the way this author wrote this story and I cannot wait to read more of what they have written.

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Review: Temptation Trials

Temptation Trials Part 1 by B. Truly
Self-Published June 3, 2017
Reviewed by Terri
3 Stars

Synopsis:

The Bachelorettes Meet Wild Things 

Part I of Temptation Trials

Will you be Tempted? Will Love save your Soul?

One nation under his reign.
Cardinal sins of man caused humanity to pay the price. Cali Nasser grew up in a world succeeding World War III. The aftermath forced the world dictatorship that she must now live in. A new Regime arose from the ashes. They demanded obedience and cooperation from every citizen, even in matters of the heart.

One domain ... One accord … One nation. In Cali’s eyes, the moral code revolves around a twisted plot for control.
It used to sicken Cali how people would allow the Regime to test their love through the Temptation Trials. That is, until she met Kincade. Cali’s entire point of view changes when she falls for him. She struggles with herself, debating if she should challenge the government’s law of arranged marriage.

Cali’s childhood friend, Stefani, always kept a positive perspective about their lives until she was threatened with the same dilemma, at odds over the man she loves.

Now Cali and Stefani face a desperate choice—submit to the Regime’s will, or fight for what they value most—love. Although lust, mistaken for love, could lead to damnation. Do they give up on love or sign up for the Temptation Trials, a reality TV show where every temptation is laid before them?
The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak. Can love save their souls?

Rated Mature 18 +
Adult, Dystopian Romance with sensuality, sexual content, and love triangles. (Goodreads)


Review:

The best part of dystopian stories is the slight sense of reality in the storyline. And with as crazy as the world seems these days, it's almost like watching the aftermath of a car accident; ya know you shouldn't, but you can't help but slow down and stare as you drive by. The storyline for this book is great. A pair of new adult girls hook up with a pair of hot new adult rebels and join together to fight the good fight. The author uses a dual POV and does a good job distinguishing between the two main characters. 

Where this story lacked and why I'm rating it a three has to do with the overall execution and presentation. There were several holes in the plot line. For example, in one scene one of the couples comes under some heavy shooting. In the previous scene, they were handcuffed together. They discuss running away at separate times but don't mention getting out of the handcuffs until several scenes later. Some of the dialog and word choices felt a little off for young adults. There was also a lot of repetitive info dumps. 

I think the author has done a great job creating a whole story. It has strong merit and deserves a chance to shine. With a little editing, this book could easily be a five-star.

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Review: Intensity

Intensity by Sherrilyn Kenyon
Chronicles of Nick Book 8
Published September 5, 2017 by St. Martin's Griffin
Reviewed by Sarah
4 Bloody Fangs

Synopsis:

It’s a demon-eat-demon world for Nick Gautier. Just when he thinks he’s finally gotten a handle on how not to take over the world and destroy it, Death returns with an all-star cast that is determined to end the Malachai reign and lineage forever. Worse? Death and War have found the one, true enemy Nick can’t find, and even if he did, it’s one he could never bring himself to banish or kill.

Now framed for murders he hasn’t committed, and surrounded by new friends who might be turncoats, Nick is learning fast how his father went down in flames.

The heat in New Orleans is rising fast, and Nick’s threat-level has gone into a whole new level of intensity. He’s learning fast that when War and Death decide to battle, they don’t take prisoners. The don’t negotiate. And they’re both immune to his biting sarcasm and Cajun charm. To win this, he will have to embrace a new set of powers, but one wrong step, and he will belong to the side of Darkness, forever.
  (Goodreads)


Review:

I'm a huge fan of Sherrilyn and I absolutely adore Nick but this book for some reason couldn't keep my attention long. It wasn't for lack of good story or writing which was as usual for Sherrilyn top notch but more of a it just felt drawn out for some reason. There were certain parts that felt as if it could have been written in a different manner or shortened in length but over all it was a good read. Will I continue this series? Maybe not- it might just be that my tastes are starting to change but it wasn't due to her lack of material, imagination, or writing methods but more of a it feels weird to still be reading teen/ young adult books now that my own kids are old enough to start reading these.

Reviewed by Sarah of the GothicMoms Review Team

Friday, September 15, 2017

Spotlight & Review: Unorthodox




Unorthodox
A Kendra Spark Novel
Book One
S. Peters-Davis

Genre: Paranormal Suspense-Thriller Romance
with a good dollop of Supernatural

Publisher: Books We Love Publishing

Date of Publication: September 15, 2017

ISBN 978-1-77362-303-0
ISBN 978-1-77362-304-7
EPUB 978-1-77362-300-9
Kindle 978-1-77362-301-6
WEB 978-1-77362-302-3

Number of pages: 153 pages
Word Count: 63,000

Cover Artist: CoverUp.Net

Book Tagline:  Kendra’s ability of communicating with the dead is requested by her FBI criminal analyst friend to stop a killer from murdering agents.

Series Tagline: Kendra sees ghosts, and then her BFF, Jenna, becomes one. The two friends and FBI agent Derek Knight fight for justice to the victims of heinous crimes.

Book Description:

Kendra Spark, suspense-mystery romance author and communicator with the dead, is requested to hop on the first flight to D.C.

Jenna Powers, FBI criminal analyst and estranged best friend of Kendra, gets ghosticized in a fatal accident before relaying all the details of the FBI killer case.

Derek Knight, a dedicated FBI Special Task Force agent, takes lead on the case.

The investigation into the FBI agent killings continues as Kendra, Jenna – yes, even after death – and Derek work together on the case before Director of the Special Task Force Jackson Powers’ number is up. He’s Jenna’s father and the end-game of the killer’s target list.

Somehow the elusive killer remains undetected, until Kendra’s unique ability produces results and a final possibility at stopping his killing spree before it’s too late.


5 Chilling Stars

This book was really good. The touch of spook factor along with the suspense, mystery and paranormal (which is always fun) all blended together making the perfect combination.

I loved the chemistry the trio of main characters had together. The way they worked together to figure things out was phenomenal. And Derek was the perfect piece of visual eye candy. I really enjoyed how well written these characters were, whether their roles were big or small. The writing was superb and I loved how everything flowed together, creating a vivid picture in the minds eye. 

Everyone had to figure out who and what they were and needed to be and everyone had to come together to figure out everything else. It was definitely an amazing read.

Reviewed by Kaila


Excerpt:

From the Author Review Copy: The scene – Derek has Kendra in a casual interrogation room inside the FBI building – D.C. location

The door opened and Jackson Powers entered before I could respond.
He glanced around the room stopping when he saw me; his red rimmed eyes spoke volumes. I clearly remembered his presence, a straightforward man, full of confidence and direction, but in this moment he appeared like a man broken. I rose and reached for a hand shake. Instead, he grabbed my hand and pulled me into a big bear hug.
“I’m so very sorry about Jenna. Sorry for your loss, for my loss…” Muscles tensed around my vocals and cut off the words.
Tears spilled from both of us. Derek stepped out of the room, clicking the door closed.
“Jenna told me she was meeting with you today, going to show you the city sights.” Jackson held me for a few more minutes, patting my back and telling me it wasn’t my fault.
The thought of the accident initially being my fault had never entered my mind. Why would that thought cross his? I stepped back. Obviously he hadn’t received the latest details of the accident, but even so why would he consider that I’d feel responsible. Even if I questioned that maybe I could have done something to stop her in some way, she did save that boy. “Not sure what you mean…in thinking it could be my fault?”
His eyes widened, maybe a little startled at my blatant question. “I assumed Jenna ran after a little culprit that grabbed your purse or something much worse. She must have gotten caught up in the chase to run in front of on-coming traffic.” His face softened. “Kendra, I know Jenna, there was nothing you could have done to stop her. She’s always been head-strong…was always
head-strong,” he corrected himself, then his voice cracked, and suddenly something occurred to me.
Jackson isn’t privy to Jenna and Derek’s manhunt for the FBI killer, nor the reason I’m here. Of course. Jenna had tagged along to certain crime scenes while she was still in college, but from all that I remembered, Jackson wanted her profiling cases strictly inside the building. She had access to all the crime scenes from pictures and files on her laptop. At least she always used to complain about his restrictions, and I couldn’t imagine he would allow her in the field on a serial killer task force, unless things had changed in the last couple years.
There’d been a few close calls on other cases, some of the agent’s family members being abducted or being used for negotiation, leverage. While in college, Jenna told me all the rules her father had enforced if she were to join in any of the FBI cases. He protected her, and now she had returned the favor…to her demise.
Jenna and Derek were hunting the serial killer behind Jackson’s back.
There was a tap on the door and Derek stepped in. His brows were drawn close, eyes narrowed, perhaps his expression of concern. “Sir, I thought Kendra might be hungry. She hasn’t eaten all day.” He smiled at me, and then looked back at Jackson. “I’m headed out for a late lunch and thought I’d take her with me.”
Jackson’s lips pressed together. He finally lifted his chin toward me. “Well, of course. We certainly wouldn’t want anyone going hungry now, would we,” more of a statement than a question. He patted my shoulder. “Go on, Kendra. We can continue our talk later. I’d like to hear exactly what happened to my daughter from someone who was there to witness it.”
Derek grasped my elbow and led me toward the door.
Instead of following, Jackson released a long breathy sigh and sat on the couch. “Shut the door behind you, Derek. And tell Darla I don’t wish to be disturbed.”

My heart swelled huge behind my ribcage, again the confining weight pressing in on my ability to breathe. I couldn’t imagine the emotional maelstrom Jackson was going through. I knew only my own turbulent ride. Now I needed to get some facts straight; it was my turn to interrogate Derek.



About the Author:

S. Peters-Davis writes multi-genre stories, but loves penning a good page-turning suspense-thriller, especially when it’s a ghost story and a romance. When she’s not writing, editing, or reading, she’s hiking, RV’ing, fishing, playing with grandchildren, or enjoying time with her favorite muse (her husband) in Southwest Michigan.

She also writes YA paranormal, supernatural novels as DK Davis.


Twitter – https://twitter.com/spdavis788   


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, September 11, 2017

Spotlight & Review: Guardian Unforgiven





Guardian Unforgiven
Book One
Nollen Bradley

Genre: Werewolf Erotic Thriller

Date of Publication: 7-05-2017

ASIN:  9781521565940

Number of pages: 241
Word Count: 81,290

Cover Artist: Nollen Bradley

Book Description:

Family secrets are hard to hide, sometimes they claw their way out.

The werewolf, most believe to be folklore or legend. For centuries, the existence of werewolves were kept secret and guarded by a warrior class of lycan descended from a fierce ancient line known as the Guardians. These Guardians, sworn to uphold the peace between the wolf and humans. But, some werewolves not satisfied with living in secrecy start lashing out, hunting and killing all with the ancient gene to push humanity into extinction.

Now, only a few descendants are left with the cursed bloodline, some don’t even know they have it…   

Amazon Print     Amazon Kindle       Smashwords       24 Symbols     BN


4 Howling Stars Review

A nice twist on the werewolf lore with these special Guardians. Mark has no knowledge of his ancestry till he meets a local woman named Page. Things get complicated fast as Mark gets drawn deeper into the thick of it. I love how he hears a rock song playing in his head that seems to fit the situation he is in at any given time. The love scenes are just the right touch of hot and sexy for paranormal romance fans. 

Descriptive when it comes to explaining the transformation from human to wolf, so it gives the reader a vivid picture of how it takes place. These werewolves are unpredictable, and the battle to survive in this world is great. This has one heck of an ending. I'm not sure if this is a standalone, but I believe it is. I would love to see more books with Guardians because I think it deserves a little more exploring. Here's hoping for more!     

Reviewed by Janet

Excerpt 4


"... Warmed by the fire but still soaked from the rain. I feel her fingernails gently scratch my back, starting from my right scapula, diagonally down to my doused jeans. The tingling pain released unknown desire. As her hands moved, placing them on my shoulders, she stepped closer to me. The moment her body touched mine, her feel was different than before. Warmer, delicate but commanding."

About the Author:

Nollen Bradley is a pen name for Bradley Noll an American author residing near Leavenworth Kansas. The married, father of two grown children is new to the published author scene even though he has been writing song lyrics, poems and short stories all of his life.

Brad grew up on a farm outside of Winchester Kansas learning the value of hard work. Following college, Brad spent twelve years as a Paramedic until his second back surgery ending his successful career where he received several letters of commendation.

Brad spent time farming in his off days feeling the everyday pressures of the weather, markets and juggling the debt that is associated with large business. Brad also spent several years as an amateur Rodeo Clown (Bullfighter) working several local rodeos in the IPRA circuit. All the while, continuing to write songs and preform at local venues. Following a music CD he produced named “Make Believe” with eleven of his original songs and while in the process of producing his second Album he realized his talent was more suited for writing then music.

Brad takes the experience from the sweat stinging his eyes from the heat on a hot July day in Kansas. The heartache from having to tell a parent or a child that their loved one has died and there was nothing he could do, to the struggles of trying to pursue a dream and watching it crumble in front of him.

Brad has developed a style that draws on real life experiences to provided exciting yet believable story lines that captivate readers. Writing unbelievable tales with the realism of the struggles from everyday life in the painful cookie cutter suburban age. 




a Rafflecopter giveaway


From My Author Page...

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GothicMoms Updates